University of Rwanda,Research directorate

Welcome note

Created on 10th September 2013 with an objective to be a research led university with national, regional and global impact, the University of Rwanda (UR) envisions being an academically excellent research led institution that is locally relevant and internationally recognized. Its mission is to become a world class university empowering national economic and social transformation through active participation in the global knowledge economy. The newly established University of Rwanda realizes that it is essential to Build staff research capacity, create an enabling environment for research and provide resources and facilities to enable staff to do research. To become a research led University, UR sets out to ensure that: (i) it institutes a “research-culture”, (ii) Staff are “research active”, (iii) Staff publish their research in leading journals, (iv) UR develops postgraduate research and publication, (v) teaching and learning is informed by research results, and (vi) UR research contributes to Rwanda development and Rwandan society well being.

The University of Rwanda has put in place systems to ensure quality research and Doctoral training are undertaken. The University has a Deputy Vice Chancellor with a Research portfolio, the DVC in-charge of Academic Affairs and Research. There is a Research and Postgraduates Studies Unit (UR-RPGS Unit) at central level headed by the University Director of Research and Postgraduate Studies, and each College has a Directorate of Research and Postgraduate Studies.
There are committees of organ which design policies, strategies and ensure they are implemented. UR has approved an academic workload framework which distributes the workload among the three core missions of the University: Teaching, Research and Community engagement. For example, a Professor and an Associate Professor are expected to spend 50% of their workload on research, 35% on Teaching and supervising PhD and Masters Students, 10% on community engagement such as extension and outreach activities, engaging in national or international policy related activities, external examiners, membership to boards or academic associations etc and 5% on academic administrative tasks.
To prove they spend that time on research, every academic qualification is assigned a number of publications to publish every year and other research related deliverables and this is included in the annual performance contracts. For example full professors are expected to publish 3 articles in credible journals in a year. Incentives for research and supervision of Postgraduate students have been approved. Also approved are measures to be taken against those who will not perform. Performance indicators have been approved for every academic staff qualification. Currently the Performance indicators are being developed for Research managers from Heads of Department all the way to DVC in charge of Academic Affairs and Research, to make them accountable for research production within their constituencies.
UR has developed and approved a Staff training plan for its staff to get qualifications of Masters and PhDs. In order to achieve the set targets for staff to acquire higher qualifications, a number of strategies will be implemented; facilitated by enabling frameworks and support structures.

The University of Rwanda is new; however, it is built on former seven Rwandan Universities which were disestablished by the same law that established UR. The seven former Universities are: National University of Rwanda (NUR) , created in 1963; the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture et d’Elevage (ISAE) in English Higher Institute of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry , created in 1989; Kigali Health Institute (KHI), created in 1996; Kigali Institute of Science and Technology (KIST), created in 1997; Kigali Institute of Education (KIE), created in 1999; School of Finance and Banking (SFB), created in 2002; Umutara Polytechnic (UP), created in 2006. By the same law that disestablished the seven Institutions, UR inherited all their activities and programmes.
UR is comprised of the following six colleges: College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences(CAVM); College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS); College of Business and Economics (CBE); College of Education (CE); College of Medicine and Health Sciences(CMHS); and College of Science and Technology (CST). The Colleges are based on Cluster Disciplines where all similar disciplines from former Institutions are pooled together to form a given College. As such, there is no single former Institution that has remained as it was, as explained below:
1. CAVM is formed by all the agricultural sciences, food science and technology and veterinary medicine units from former NUR, UP, ISAE and KIST. Its Headquarters are at Busogo Campus.
2. CASS is formed by all arts, humanities, law, and social science units from former NUR, the former NUR Centre for Conflict Management and the centre for Gender, Culture and Development Studies of former KIE. CASS is headquartered at Huye Campus.
3. CBE is formed by all business, management, applied statistics and economics units from former NUR, UP and SFB, and the former NUR centre for Environment, Entrepreneurship and sustainable development. The Headquarters of CBE are at Gikondo Campus.
4. CE is formed largely of former KIE and a small contribution from the former NUR and KIST Open and Distance Learning Departments, its headquarters are at Remera Campus.
5. CMHS is formed by units of Medicine, Pharmacy, Clinical Psychology and Public Health of former NUR, units of Nursing, Dentistry and Paramedics of former KHI and units of Environmental Health and Epidemiology of former UP; its headquarters are at Nyarugenge campus.
6. CST is formed by all units of Science, Engineering and Technology from former KIST, former NUR, and former UP; its headquarters are at Nyarugenge campus.
The University of Rwanda Headquarters are currently located in Kigali at Gikondo Campus, Mburabuturo Hill (where former SFB used to be located). The University academic and research activities are operating at 17 campuses which are spread all over the country in all the five Provinces of Rwanda as follows: Kigali City: Gikondo (CBE), Kicukiro (CMHS), Nyarugenge (CASS, CAVM, CE (ODL), CMHS, and CST), Remera (CE and CASS), and Rubirizi (CAVM); Eastern Province: Kibungo (CMHS), Nyagatare (CAVM, CBE, CST), Rukara (CE), and Rwamagana (CMHS); Northern Province: Byumba (CMHS), Musanze (CASS), Busogo (CMHS); Southern Province: Huye (CASS, CAVM, CBE, CE (ODL), CMHS and CST), Kabgayi (CMHS), Kavumu (CE); and Western Province: Nyamishaba (CMHS), Rusizi (CBE).